Duchess Says: Anthologie des 3 Perchoirs

Montreal’s Duchess Says fuses the fury and intensity of a punk rock comprised of screaming guitars, moaning bass and relentless drumming with keyboards and the explosively sexy stylings of vocalist Annie-C. There is something breathtakingly original about Duchess Says and one listen to Anthologie des 3 Perchoirs will cement that impression.

Duchess Says formed when longtime collaborators Annie-C Deschênes and Ismaël Tremblay relocated to Montreal from Québec City. Shortly after they enlisted the help of multi-instrumentalist Philippe Clément and then in an attempt to bring more of a live, immediate sound to the trio, they added drummer Simon Besre. Early on they released a four song EP and they spent the last few years working in the studio and further perfecting their mind blowing live performances. It has been a long time coming, but we are pleased to finally offer their debut full-length recording, Anthologie des 3 Perchoirs.

Despite the lack of a full-length release Duchess Says has become one of the poster bands of Montreal, having performed at most of the major festivals in their native Quebec as well as representing Montreal at the prestigious Montreal showcase at SXSW (to which they return this year). During this time they also performed alongside the likes of Depeche Mode, Sonic Youth, Juan Mclean, Dinosaur Jr. and Les Georges Leningrad among many others.

The album treats listeners to a mixture of punked-out electronic music that recalls the likes of Six Finger Satellite, whom they pay respects to with their blazing cover of Rabies, as well contemporaries Glass Candy and The Chromatics. Featured on this LP is the band’s live anthem Black Flag, which has one of the most memorable choruses to come out of the genre and is sure to have even the stiffest of fans shaking like bacon. The record opens with Teneu Non Neu which, giving a great indication of the fever pitch intensity of the band, finds Annie-C producing one explosive auricular orgasm after another with the band in hot pursuit matching her intensity. Other cuts such as A Century Old and I’ve Got the Flu have been crowd favorites for some time are now captured on record.

Currently the band has tours planned Canada to be followed by a full scale American tour in fall.

Release date: April 15, 2008

Label: Alien8 Recordings

Album cover for Anthologie des 3 Perchoirs by Duchess Says
Downloadable/Playable Tracks
(click '+' to add to cart)
1 Tenen non neu 2:12 $0.99
2 Ccut Up 3:53 $0.99
3 La friche 2:04 $0.99
4 AEAE 2:38 $0.99
5 Rabies (Baby's Got the) 3:22 $0.99
6 A Century Old 4:15 $0.99
7 Melon 3:04 $0.99
8 I've Got the Flu 5:09 $0.99
9 Black Flag 4:00 $0.99
10 CH.O.B. 1:01 $0.99
11 Les résidents 2:04 $0.99
12 Lip Gloss Babyla 2:45 $0.99
13 Prologue 5:37 $0.99
Full Downloadable Album 42:04 $8.99
Digital Formats:
  • FLAC Lossless
  • 320 Kbps MP3
  • Variable Bit Rate MP3