Les Georges Leningrad: Black Eskimo

“When the qallunaaq Black Eskimo decided to leave the petrochemical ironclad Les Georges Leningrad stuck in the ice, he didn’t doubt that he would disappear in a way never before seen on television. On this album, Poney, Bobo and Mingo present him with disconcerting homage of rare and sadistic music resonating from the purebred lineage of petrochemical rock.”

Announcing the long awaited sophomore release from Montreal’s notorious Les Georges Leningrad. After two years LGL break their silence by delivering their latest recording: “Sur les traces de Black Eskimo.” Now operating as a trio, they are leaner and more dangerous than ever.

Just a few releases back, we were pleased to present the deluxe reissue of the band’s debut effort, “Deux Hot Dogs Moutarde Chou”. Now we can’t wait to see the response to “Sur les traces de Black Eskimo.” Thanks to rigorous touring the band has never sounded so tight and energetic. This latest effort is without a doubt a catchier affair, boasting a number of potential crossover hits. “Black Eskimo” mixes elements of post-punk and noisy improv to deliver a completely unique hybrid.

Les Georges Leningrad is made up of front person Poney P. She has a jarring, yet captivating vocal delivery and a magnetic stage presence. Mingo L’Indien is responsible for the bulk of electronics and guitars, backing vocals and strange costumes. Bobo Boutin is the masked mad man who literally destroys his drum kit with his precise and unique playing style and also delivers some amazing backing vocals.

“Super Doopa,” already a crowd favorite in the band’s live set, is an instant classic that will also see a release as an EP on Troubleman Unlimited featuring remixes by Akufen and Magas. “Gary” is a spastic piece comprised of screaming and skronk, yet it remains oddly accessible. “Fifi F.” is another instant post-punk classic that recalls the glory days of hard disco and the likes of Giorgio Moroder .

Les Georges Leningrad have toured and performed with Erase Errata, The Gossip, Le Tigre, The Locust, Magas, Sonic Youth, Trans Am and the Unicorns. They plan to tour extensively in support of “Sur les traces” this Fall.

Release date: October 05, 2004

Label: Alien8 Recordings

Album cover for Black Eskimo by Les Georges Leningrad
Downloadable/Playable Tracks
(click '+' to add to cart)
1 Missing Gary 4:27 $0.99
2 Sponsorships 3:14 $0.99
3 Black Eskimo 3:05 $0.99
4 Nebraska's Valentine 3:25 $0.99
5 Umiarjuaq 2:23 $0.99
6 Wunderkind #2 2:26 $0.99
7 Supa Doopa 3:46 $0.99
8 St-Mary's Memorial Hall 4:58 $0.99
9 Pekin Pekin 2:40 $0.99
10 Richard 0:54 $0.99
11 Fifi F. 3:20 $0.99
12 Comment te dire adieu? 3:58 $0.99
Full Downloadable Album 38:36 $4.99
Digital Formats:
  • Variable Bit Rate MP3