>> Alien8 Store


Immortal: Pure Holocaust

Immortal – Pure Holocaust

01. Unsilent Storms In The North Abyss
02. A Sign For The Norse Hordes To Ride
03. The Sun No Longer Rises
04. Frozen By Icewinds
05. Storming Through Red Clouds And Holocaustwinds
06. Eternal Years On The Path To The Cemetary Gates
07. As The Eternity Opens
08. Pure Holocaust

A lot of people think that black metal is a style based only on violence and absence of harmony, that there isn’t a connection between the music and the lyrics, and that it’s only Satanic stuff. These people are wrong and albums like “Pure Holocaust” are the proof. Norwegian Black Metal band Immortal (R.I.P.) has made history in its genre, changing the style after 1997 into a kind of Thrash/Black that brought the band under the lore of the Label Nuclear Blast. But I’m not here to tell the story of one of the greatest bands ever, so let’s review the second work of the Norwegian black metallers.

After the debut album “Diabolical Fullmoon Mysticism,” which was created by Abbath and Demonaz (at the time thy were both about 17 years old), they decided to make something stronger and nearer to what is a “frozen tempest chaos.” This project would be reached only with “Battles In The North,” but “Pure Holocaust” is a passage-point and it’s really important for this band. Each song shines of its own frozen and cold light. At the first listening the album sounds like a tempest that brings us into the world of Blashyrkh on which the lyrics of this band are based (and it’s also the beautiful lyrics that make this album so great). “Unsilent Storms In The North Abyss” is the beginning. The first notes are really catchy, then the true riffing of the band (cold and fast) starts, Abbath is greater than ever. Another great song is “Frozen By Icewinds” which has a quite slow guitar introduction; riffs are mighty (great is the work of Erik on the drums), the song finishes with a great solo by Demonaz which makes this song one of the classics of this band. Another great piece of this album is “As The Eternity Opens” which gives the impression of infinity. All the other songs are great, I nominated only the best. Though this album is not the best of this band, I think that deserves to be bought for all the black metal fans.

review c/o Metal Storm

Search Store


Store Info

Download Codes


Acceptance Mark